Helsinki Challenge jury 2016-2017

Chairman of the Helsinki Challenge jury 2016-2017

Pekka Haavisto (the jury’s chairperson) is a Green party MP, the president of the European Institute of Peace and the Foreign Minister’s Special Representative for African Crises. Haavisto is familiar with the UN’s Agenda 2030 sustainable development goals thanks to his experience in international conflict resolution.

Members of the Helsinki Challenge jury 2016-2017 (pre-qualification)

Timo Ahopelto is a venture capitalist and a board member of Tekes, the Finnish Funding Agency for Innovation. Ahopelto has experience ranging from entrepreneurship and investment to the startup field and corporate finance.

Maija Itkonen is an industrial designer and co-founder of the pulled oats company Gold & Green Foods. She is also one of Aalto University’s Design Factory’s founders. Itkonen is an advocate for research-based business and would like companies to make use of research knowledge more effectively.

Professor Marja Makarow is Director of Biocenter Finland and former vice president of the Academy of Finland, chief executive of the European Science Foundation and vice rector of the University of Helsinki. Makarow drives translation of research findings into innovation, business and jobs in the governing board of the European Institute for Innovation and Technology. She also chairs Technology Academy Finland which awards one of the world’s most important innovation prizes, the Millennium Technology Prize.

Anneli Pauli has worked as the Deputy Director General of the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Research and Innovation in Brussels, vice president for research at the Academy of Finland, director of Heureka, the Finnish Science Centre Foundation and as the president of the Lappeenranta University of Technology. Pauli hopes that Finnish universities would seek solutions to global problems with an interdisciplinary approach.


Helsinki Challenge jury 2014-2015

Chairman of the Helsinki Challenge jury 2014-2015

Thomas Wilhelmsson, Chancellor, Univesity of Helsinki

Members of the Helsinki Challenge jury 2014-2015 (final)

Sally Mapstone, Pro-Vice Chancellor of Education, University of Oxford

Pasi Sahlberg, Professor of Practice, Harward University's Graduate School of Education

Ulrich Weinberg, Director, Hasso-Platner Institute School of Design Thinking

Mikko Kosonen, President, Sitra, Finnish Innovation Fund

Members of the Helsinki Challenge jury 2014-2015 (pre-qualification)

Ida Hakola, Founding Partner & CEO at Vapa Media Oy

Katri Korolainen,the Secretary General of the Student Union of the University of Helsinki

Mikko Kosonen, President, Sitra, Finnish Innovation Fund

Arto Mustajoki, Professor of Russian Language and Literature, University of Helsinki

Hannele Niemi, Professor of Education, University of Helsinki

Marja-Leena Rinkineva, Director of Economic Development, City of Helsinki

Liisa Rohweder, Secretary General, WWF

Irma Thesleff, Academician, University of Helsinki

Petteri Taalas, Director General of the Finnish Meteorological Institute (FMI)

Secretary of the Helsinki Challenge jury 2014-2015

Ira Leväaho, Project Manager, Helsinki Challenge, University of Helsinki